Recent Happenings

Six Countries add to red list

Views: 424

Britain on Thursday said it would be ban travel from six South African countries,After South Africa have a New Covid-19 variant with a large number of mutations.

Health Secretary Sajid Javid said we have of this variant is it may be more transmissible than the delta variant and the vaccines that we currently have may be less effective against it.

Javid said the new variant, which South Africa attributed to a surge in cases and had also been dedicated travellers from the country in Botswana and Hong Kong, had not been found so far in Britain.

But he said British scientists were “deeply concerned” and as a precaution a decision had been to suspend all flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana from 1200 GMT on Friday.

We will be requiring anyone that arrives from those countries from 4:00 am on Sunday to quarantine in hotels,” he added.

If anyone arrives before then they should self-isolate at home and take a PCR test on day two and day eight.And if anyone has arrived from any of those countries over the last 10 days, we would ask them to take PCR tests.

Britain’s government was widely criticised for its travel and quarantine policy earlier in the pandemic, when it kept its borders open to foreign travellers even as infection rates spiralled.

UK to close all travel corridors from Monday

About Post Author